Customer Service…Try it Once in a While!

Customer Service is a choice, no one can make you do it well…  I came across this wonderful story and I just have to share it.

The story teller was at an airport waiting in line for a cab to take him to his final destination.  When the cab pulled up, the first thing he noticed was that the taxi was clean and polished to a bright shine.  The driver was dressed in a white shirt, black tie and freshly pressed black slacks; the driver jumped out and opened the back door for his passenger.

He handed him a card that said; “I’m Wally, your cab driver.  While I’m loading your bags in the trunk I’d like you to read my mission statement.”

It read:  “Wally’s Mission Statement:  To get my customers to their destination in the quickest, safest and cheapest way possible in a friendly environment…”

As the cabbie slid behind the wheel, Wally said, “Would you like a cup of coffee?  I have a thermos of regular and one of decaf or if you prefer I have a cooler with Coke, water and orange juice.  If you’d like something to read, I have The Wall Street Journal, Time, and USA Today.”

As Wally pulled away he handed his passenger another card, “These are the stations I get and the music they play, if you’d like to listen to the radio.”

As if that weren’t enough, Wally told his passenger that he had air conditioning on and asked if the temperature was comfortable.  Wally went on to explain the best route to his destination, and he would be happy to chat and tell about some of the sights.

Totally amazed, the passenger asked Wally, “have you always served customers like this?”

Wally smiled into the rear view mirror.  “No, not always.  In fact, it’s only been in the last two years.  My first five years driving, I spent most of my time complaining like all the rest of the cabbies do.  Then I heard the personal growth guru, Wayne Dyer on the radio one day.

He had just written a book called ‘You’ll See It When you Believe It.’  Dyer said that if you get up in the morning expecting to have a bad day, you’ll rarely disappoint yourself.  He said “Stop complaining!  Differentiate yourself from your competition.  Don’t be a duck.  Be an eagle.  Ducks quack and complain, Eagles soar above the crowd.”

Wally said he decided to change his attitude and made some changes like his clean cab and his attire; the first year as an eagle, Wally noticed he doubled his income.  He predicts he will probably quadruple it this year.  He went on to tell his passenger, “You were lucky to get me today, I don’t sit at cabstands anymore.  My customers call me for appointments on my cell phone or leave me a message.  If I can’t pick them up I get a reliable cabbie friend to do it.”

Wally was running a limo service out of a cab!  The story teller has told this story of Wally to more than fifty cab drivers over the years and only two took the idea and ran with it.  Whenever he goes to their cities, he gives them a call.  The rest of the drivers quacked like ducks and told me all the reasons they couldn’t do any of what Wally did.

Wally the Cab Driver made a different choice.  He decided to stop quacking like ducks and start soaring eagles.  What about us?

“A man reaps what he sows.  Let us not become wary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up… let us do good to all people.”

~ by Carla on August 16, 2009.

One Response to “Customer Service…Try it Once in a While!”

  1. Customers come first!

Leave a Reply

 
