Things that Drives me Nuts as a Realtor

I haven’t decided yet if I am going to create a whole new blog regarding this topic, or just sprinkle my comments here and there in this one, so we will see how it goes.

So what drives me nuts as a Realtor, well there are a few things for starters.  The first thing that drives me nuts is these “Glamour” photos that some Realtors take and put on their cards or websites.  It wouldn’t be soooo bad if the photo you were using was recent, but stop putting a photo up of when you were in high school and now you are 65 years old.  If I am going to meet you regarding a home, I can’t find you because someone else shows up in your place.

The second most agrevating thing to me is the word “Expert”.  Everone seems to be an expert in this business.  There are very talented and smart people in this business, but we are not all experts.  Don’t say you are an expert at “Short Sales” and you have only done 1 or 2, or you are an expert at “First Time Home Buyers” and don’t know the first thing about the various programs available for them by either the state or some other organization.  There are alot of banks out there and they all have a different way of doing things and different programs available.  You may be an “expert” on a particular development because you live there, but don’t stretch the word “expert”.

And thirdly, for now at least, part time realtors.  I understand you have to make a living and for some real estate is very difficult right now…thats fine, I am OK with that.  What I have a problem with is that you have listings out there and when we try to get a hold of you to show a home, no answer, and no call back.  Try assigning it to someone that is working the business full time so we can sell your home, get your clients on their way, and put a paycheck back in your pocket and ours.

So these are just 3 for right now…I have others but lets just see how this goes.  Please comment as you see fit, but keep it clean!

~ by ToughGuy on November 2, 2008.

4 Responses to “Things that Drives me Nuts as a Realtor”

  1. Nice photo. Top of my list are the agents who have TOO many listings who don’t call back. I don’t understand why the banks assign so many listings to a single agent when they don’t have a team large enough to handle all of them. Some agents here have more than 100 REO listings.

  2. Add to the list: doesn’t know how to fill out the paperwork. From agency disclosures, to the contract itself – I see agents incorrectly filling things out.

    And

    Taking listings where the only “comps” they used – was the one where they asked the seller “what do you want to list it for?”, and thats the price they ended up going with.

  3. I am with you on the “Expert” word. I as an investor help many realtors out by purchasing their short sales and expediding the process. I bring in my own negotiator and BPO agent and let the realtor do what they do best (collect comissions). I come across many realtors that think if they don’t know about it, or are unfamiliar with it, it must be illegal. It can be very hard getting through to the “Experts”.

  4. I hear ya Trent. I’m a realtor and Engineer and understand the process as well as I was an investor prior to this with my wife where we purchased homes, renovated and resold. Ever Investor has a different criteria for how they buy. Short sales tend to be a pain which is why I have a Short Sale Negotiator that I hired on my team for our listings. We just dont have the time to mess around and alot of Realtors that are “Experts” dont have a clue in this market which is sad because they tend to waste my time as well.

    Sounds like you have things under control, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

 
