Location, Location, Location – When Location Doesn’t Make Sense

I feel very sorry for the many people that have or had homes in the Galveston Texas area but where their homes are or were just doesn’t make any sense.  I would love to live on the beach, but not literally on the beach.  No protection from storms, waves, wind, etc.  It just doesn’t make sense to me.  Did the government give them flood insurance with their homes that close to the water.  The inevitable truth is that eventually, they will be hit with a storm.  I live in the Tampa area and live relatively close to the water, and I am not disillusioned that my home will eventually be subjected to a hurricane.  My house is built well and has all up to date hurricane upgrades so I feel pretty safe but if I was looking out my window and saw no wall and beautiful water all around me, I think that although the shear awe of the view, I would be horrified to think of the consequences of a storm and what that storm is going to do to my home with absolutely no protection what so ever.

I guess this is just one case where location just doesn’t make sense and you buy and live with the risk that someday, it may not be there anymore.

~ by ToughGuy on September 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
