Why Northerners Always Talk About Food!

Being from Massachusetts, I love food.  And not just any food, but good food, most of the time from little holes in the wall.  Up north, it is pretty easy to find a good Pizza, Chinese Restaurant, Italian food, and yes, seafood galore.  Here in Florida, it is not as simple.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Florida, but you have to hunt for “the Good Stuff” like what I am accustomed to.  Here is part of my problem.  I lived in Boston for a good portion of my life, and Boston food is like no other.  You want to test my theory, next time you run into someone from up north, ask them how the like the food down here and I can assure you, that you will engage in a conversation that will last for hours.

So lets’ talk about food.  There are lots of Northerners down here in Florida, NY, NH, NJ, ME, etc, and they are all looking for good food..well, here are a few of my top picks:

1. Taste of Boston (5314 Interbay Blvd, Tampa) – Ipswich Fried clams, Fried Cod, Fried seafood like up north.  You will love it, I do!

2. Byblos Cafe (2832 S. MacDill Ave, Tampa) – Middle Eastern food, fantastic entertainment.

3. Carabas (multiple location) – Only go for the Mussels…fantastic!

4. East Coast Pizza ( Gibsonton) – The Veal Parmigiana is to die for!

5. Little Harbor (Ruskin) – Eating Atmosphere, some of the best grouper around…plus look at Tampa Bay from your seat, can’t be beat!  Live entertainment on the weekends!

This should keep you all busy for at least a few weeks…try them out and see what you like.  I am pretty picky when it comes to food like up north so I am pretty sure I won’t steer you wrong.  Have Fun and happy eating!

~ by ToughGuy on May 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
