Why Use a Home Inspector?

Recently I have been working with a First Time Home Buyer who really doesn’t know anything about buying a home and has no one other than myself to guide them along the way.  They decided to focus their efforts on looking at Tampa Foreclosures.  Each step of this process has been long; finding the right home, getting over the jitters of “signing my life away” and submitting an offer.  I have to remind myself that I am familiar with the process since I am a licensed Tampa Real Estate Agent and that I must be sure to explain carefully each step to get to the finish line.  That brings me to “Why a Home Inspection?” 

Buying a home is one of the largest investments you will make!  Along with the excitement and anxiety of buying a new home; you need to be educated about your purchase.  An inspection goes beyond the layout of the home, color on the walls, the stainless steel appliances and the newly updated master bath.   An inspection goes beyond the cosmetics of the home so that you can make a more informed buying decision; this means it isn’t just for the newbies, but also for the investors, and anyone who is buying a home!

Okay, so now you agree you should not skip an inspection because you thought you would save money by not having one done, right?  Well, not all inspections are created equal!  My first time home buyers wanted to save money, so they looked online and made a few calls.  They wanted to go with an inspector that was far less expensive than the one I referred.  Nothing wrong with that; except that in Florida, not all inspectors are certified.  A person can say they want to become a home inspector and file the appropriate paperwork, pay the fee and they become a licensed inspector!

 I explained this to my buyers and asked that they at least talk with the one I referred to them.  Not only is my inspector certified, he met the other inspector’s price!  They all met at the house, he gave them a first hand account of the conditions of the home as well as maintenance pointers that can add up to valuable savings for them in the future.    This service; in my mind is priceless and saves you money in the long run.  Even a new home may have issues and I would never suggest that my clients pass on having an inspection completed on a property they are considering to buy.

So the next time you are in the market, ask not “why a home inspection?” but “Who should I hire?” and you will always be equipped with the right tools to make a informed decision.

~ by Carla on March 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
