Gasparilla Pirate Celebration in Tampa

Well, this is Gasparilla Celebration weekend!  I have lived here in the Tampa area for over 3 years now (Apollo Beach to be exact) and I am not quite sure I get this.  As far as I can tell, this is a celebration of a bunch of Pirates that invaded Tampa (but it never happened).  I guess you could say it is their version of Mardi Gras…lots of beads, lots of beer, lots of boats, and lots of partying.  It is pretty much a mad house down here during this time and anyone visiting from out of state not looking to get caught up in the mess, I would avoid the downtown Tampa area completely.

Gaspar, which is who the celebration is named after, was actually a pirate and died in 1821 after trying to attack a merchant ship which was actually a Naval Vessel.  He supposedly tied a chain around himself and jumped overboard killing himself.  So I guess the city of Tampa decided to adopt this poor soul and give him his own day.

If however, you are into this, and are looking for some wild outdoor fun, it’s good family fun during the day, then by all means join the fun.  I have family in town and not sure if I will venture onward to wear some beads and drink some grog (I think I spelled that right).  Anyway, there is more to Tampa than meets the eye, sometimes it takes an imaginary Pirate to show you the way! 

~ by ToughGuy on January 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
